Fighting for the Criminally-Accused Former Police Officer-Turned-Defense Attorney

Murfreesboro DUI Lawyer

Let a Former Police Officer Fight Your DUI Charges

In Tennessee, driving under the influence (DUI) laws are constantly changing. At present, first, second, and third DUIs are normally charged as misdemeanors. A fourth or subsequent offense is considered a felony. A DUI is a crime that involves driving while having a blood alcohol content (BAC) above the legal limit of 0.08%. If you are pulled over for a DUI, a police officer will require you to take a breathalyzer test. If this test reads above 0.08%, you can be arrested. DUI convictions in Tennessee carries a mandatory minimum 48-hour jail sentence and a mandatory minimum fine of $360. A sixth DUI conviction can lead to 3 to 15 years in prison and fines up to $15,000.

Some additional DUI penalties include:

  • Loss of driving privileges
  • Victim impact panels
  • A & D assessment

Protect your driving privileges! Call (615) 654-6777 at any time of the day, any day of the week. We are available 24/7.

Questioning the Breathalyzer Test

Breathalyzers are the determining factor in many DUI cases. However, these little machines are not foolproof. If a police officer administers the test improperly, it could result in a false reading. Also, some breathalyzers may malfunction, causing a false calculation. If you suspect that your breathalyzer test was not correct, make sure to speak with an attorney. DUI Lawyer in Murfreesboro

Refusing to take a breathalyzer test at the time of your arrest can result in a license suspension. If the officer believes that you refused the test, you can face up to one year without your license for a first offense. A second offense merits two years without a license.

When Do You Need a DUI Lawyer in Murfreesboro?

If you are arrested for a DUI, don’t wait to call an attorney. You need a professional to advocate on your behalf immediately. If you were not driving with alcohol in your system, we may be able to reduce your charges to reckless driving or get the charges thrown out completely. Sometimes, defendants have alcohol in their system, but it does not surpass the legal limit. Usually, this means that we can fight to reduce your charge to a “wet reckless”.

Reckless driving charges are preferable because they come usually with:

  • No jail time
  • Lower fines
  • No license suspension
  • No DUI program attendance requirements

Reach out to our Murfreesboro DUI attorney today for a free consultation. Call (615) 654-6777 to learn more about our affordable services.

Client Testimonials

  • “Jon was able to get me pre trial diversion, and I was also able to keep my license.”

    Past Client

  • “He was very professional and easy to speak with.”

    Past Client

  • “He was overly prepared for my hearing and it showed. Very pleased.”

    Past Client

  • “Jon met with me several times and walked me through everything so I knew what to expect.”

    Past Client

  • “I highly recommend Jon for any legal matter.”

    Past Client