Fighting for the Criminally-Accused Former Police Officer-Turned-Defense Attorney

Murfreesboro Assault Defense Attorney

Facing Aggravated Domestic Assault Charges in Tennessee? We Are Here For You.

Woman with her head in her hands - TN Aggravated Assault

Assault charges can be life-altering. Aggravated assault is a Class C Felony that can lead to 3 to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. If proven guilty of an assault charge, you will also lose your right to own a firearm. In addition, this offense will go on your criminal record, affecting your ability to get a job in the future.

This is not the time to stand idly by. This is the time to take action. Call Jon D. Slager, Attorney at Law right away to discuss your case. We keep our phone lines open at all times so that you can call when you need us most. As a former police officer, Jon D. Slager is deeply familiar with the ins and outs of Tennessee law.

Make sure your voice is heard in court. Call (615) 654-6777 now for a free consultation with our assault defense lawyer in Murfreesboro. 

Simple Assault vs. Aggravated Assault in Tennessee

Simple assault is the act of knowingly, recklessly, or intentionally causing physical harm to another person. Simple assault also includes cases where a person intentionally and knowingly caused a victim to fear imminent bodily injury. Additionally, intentionally provocative and offensive actions are classified as simple assault.

Most of these cases are Class A misdemeanors, punishable by:

  • Up to 11 months, 29 days in jail
  • Fine up to $2,000.
  • Assaults against a police officer merit a fine up to $5,000

Aggravated assault charges can range from a Class A misdemeanor to a Class C felony. In the most extreme cases, Tennessee aggravated assault fines may reach $15,000. Aggravated assault differs from simple assault in several respects. Oftentimes, the victim suffers serious bodily injury. Aggravated assault also encompasses any case involving a deadly weapon. Situations involving strangulation, disregarding a protection order, assaulting a public employee or public transportation worker, or failing to protect a legal dependant also fall into this category.

What Is Domestic Assault?

Domestic assault is harming or attempting to harm a person with whom you have a special or familial relationship.

Some of these relationships include:

  • A spouse
  • A sibling
  • A parent
  • A child
  • A boyfriend or girlfriend
  • A domestic partner
  • A stepparent
  • A grandparent
  • An aunt or uncle
  • A niece or nephew
  • A stepchild

Fight your assault charges with a Murfreesboro assault defense attorney. Call (615) 654-6777 to learn more.

Client Testimonials

  • “Knowledgeable and aggressive.”

    Past Client

  • “I highly recommend Jon for any legal matter.”

    Past Client

  • “Jon met with me several times and walked me through everything so I knew what to expect.”

    Past Client

  • “He was very professional and easy to speak with.”

    Past Client

  • “Jon's hard work and determination proved my innocence.”

    Past Client